When creation no longer groans…

Do you ever wonder what nature will look like in heaven?


Yesterday, I was laying in my hammock out in the middle of someone’s farm– I mean, there was no “No Trespassing!” sign, so I figured it was okay……

Anyways!

I was laying in my really neat hammock just listening to the birds sing and feeling the wind blow through the parachute material of it.  In other words, I was simply enjoying just being out in God’s creation, which to me, seemed perfect besides the poison ivy growing right on the ground all around me.  I had to tiptoe through it as if walking through a mine field in order to set up my hammock.

Just about the time that I began thinking about how perfect everything was around me–besides the poison ivy, of course–I remembered a passage in Romans.  In Romans 8, Paul says that all creation has been in “bondage to decay” ever since the day that sin entered the world (Romans 8:19-22).  This passage made me ask myself, If this scene is groaning from being frustrated by sin, then how amazing will it be when Heaven comes with Jesus?

All I could say to answer that question was, “Woah!  I hope God has hammocks in heaven because I can’t wait to experience this in heaven!”

As a Christian, we believe that Jesus Christ died on a cross, becoming the curse of the Law itself in order that we might receive the righteousness of God (2 Corinthians 5:21, Galatians 3:13).  This belief is what saves us, allowing us to have what God has created us for: eternal life with Him (John 3:16, John 16:22).

Go out into the world today and praise God for giving you (as a Christian) the promise of an even more amazing creation to surround us once we finally reach heaven!  After all, when creation is no longer groaning, that will be the day when we receive “adoption as sons and the redemption of our bodies” (Romans 8:23).

4 responses to “When creation no longer groans…

  1. WHERE DOES IT SAY IN THE BIBLE THAT WE WILL GO TO “HEAVEN??

    • Thank you for showing me where I needed to clarify what I was saying! Here are some more verses, and I hope these further clarify, as well.

      John 3:16-18 – “For God so loved the world that He sent his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him will not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him. Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe has been condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only Son of God.”

      John 14: 1-3 – “Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God, believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also.”

      John 14:22 – “Judas (not Iscariot) said to him, ‘Lord, how is it that you will manifest yourself to us, and not to the world?’ Jesus answered him, ‘If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.”

      Revelation 21:1-3 – “Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more. And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from god prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, ‘Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God.”

  2. no problem, I was raised to think that everyone who believed went to Heaven, but the Bible says that only God is in Heaven with the son,that we all sleep until judgment day.a lot of things that I grew up believing ,I found out is wrong…

  3. Well thanks so much, Deb, for sharing this! That is something that I honestly hadn’t thought much about yet. I have read about sleeping until the day of judgment, and I think that refers to those that have already died. In John 3 right after verse 18, it takes about Jesus coming into the world will be the day of judgement because that’s when light will enter the world of darkness. Men who believe will step into the light because they cling to truth.

    I don’t know though! That’s such a great point, and I’m so glad that you shared!

Leave a Reply

